Friday, December 15, 2017, 7:30 pm
Southminster United Church

Purchase Tickets

Sofya Gulyak

Sofya Gulyak

Sofya Gulyak

Russian pianist Sofya Gulyak, at only 37 years of age, has been a mainstay on the world's stage for a decade. Top prize winner of the 2009 Leeds International Piano Competition - whose past winners include Jon Kimura Parker and Murray Perahia - she has performed at Salle Pleyel in Paris, the Moscow Conservatory and the Kennedy Center in Washington among many others. Hailed “a formidable artist” (The Guardian), this talented virtuoso has performed with many of the world’s greatest orchestras, including the London and Saint-Petersburg Philharmonic. A returning artist to the MPRS, Ms. Gulyak will present a program featuring music from Clementi to Ravel, including Pletnev’s dazzling Nutcracker (Tchaikovsky) transcription. Visit Sofya's Website

The Program

“Clementi to Ravel”

  • Clementi – Sonata in C major, Op. 33/3
  • Brahms – Variations and Fugue on a theme by Handel, Op. 24
  • Rachmaninov – Elegie, Op. 3/1
  • Tchaïkovsky/Pletnev – Nutcracker Suite
  • Ravel – La Valse

© 2017 Master Piano Recital Series
Website by : Jean-Simon Robert Ouimet
Site maintained by :